Here Comes the Rain

Hasan asserted his command of the situation. “Feldard, watch her closely. Bind her hands, if you can. Maruc, if you’re well enough, you’ll need to attend to our exhausted mage!”

He turned haughtily to the captive, “Fyodoryll, your trading activities have kept you out of the forest too long. You’re woodcraft is weak. But I thank you for collecting these horses on our behalf. Now, tell us about who sold them to you. Do you know where they went next?”

“Bah!” she cursed, defiantly. “I have done nothing wrong. Thieves! You have attacked without cause or warrant! I do not answer to the likes of you.”

Maruc watched the mercenaries withdraw. His heart was still racing but he knew that they were unlikely to return. He’d treated their type in the past at the cloister and he’d learnt from them of their distrust of zealots. This was part of the reason for his desperate defense. Men like them fought for money, but that only bought you so much loyalty.

But the priest had one doubt. Good mercenaries relied on their reputation. If they deserted a master who was still alive, word would spread and they would swiftly have no business. The chances where that they would either attempt to recapture Fyodoryll, thus retaining their pay and reputation. Or if they felt they could not overpower us they would probably seek to silence her.

He knelt down next to the mage and gently rosed him, “Wake up, this is no time for sleep,” he grinned.

The mage’s eyes flickered open. “Ah, I see she got the better of me. Oh well. I’m glad she didn’t get the better of you.” He rolled onto his feet and brushed the leaves off. “Where are the four ruffians?” He asked whilst fishing around in the sticky mess for the wand.

“They have fled. But I have a sneaking suspicion they shall return for Fyodoryll. She holds their reputation in her hands,” replied the priest.

“This isn’t over then? Well they have a fairly major obstacle in their path. Us.” Miklos located the wand. “Aha! Now where was I, oh yes. We have a conundrum. We return these horses and lose valuable time because in order to protect them we would all need travel with them. Or we free them in the forest, this would mean the mercenaries get them but that has the advantage of keeping them off our backs while we travel on.”

Miklos rubbed his clean shaven chin.

“My heart tell me the return the horses in reparation for the losses of the Sukiskyn clan. My head tells me to pursue the foe without delay, who knows what evil could be prevented for the sake of a few horses and a few hours?”

As if to settle their decision, the sky grew darker and rain began to fall. These goblins were doing a fair job of obscuring their tracks, and now the precipitation would finish the job.

10 Comments

Filed under D&D, Dungeons & Dragons, rpg

10 responses to “Here Comes the Rain

  1. Maruc: 10xp+10xp+10xp
    Miklos: 10xp+10xp
    Hasan: 10xp+10xp

    TOTAL:
    Maruc: 18,480/24000
    Miklos: 18,555/20000
    Feldard: 18,535/34000
    Hasan: 17,630/32000
    Stephan: 17,465/32000

  2. miklosdostevar

    Miklos looked up at the lowering skies and then at Hasan. “I seems that we have little choice now. If these are wise beasts they will make their own way back home. we must follow the trail before it is washed away. Bring Fyodoryll if you must. I suspect that would be the safer option.”

    Miklos watched as Hasan expertly regained the trail and followed after him.

  3. Maruc

    Maruc fell into step next to the elf, all the better to keep an eye on her. In some respects she was like Seath. It was disturbing. He wondered if they were related, briefly.

    “It seems our Walker of the Quiet Way has taken a shine to you, Fyodoryll. If Feldard had had his way well… but enough of that.” he ducked under a branch. “Do you serve dark masters? Or are you as Hasan has suggested; cleverly duped or simply misguided?”

  4. Stephan

    Stephan shook his head in disbelief.

    “The physical trail is lost. We can’t turn twenty four good horses loose in the woods. We’ll follow the “trail” of the gobs via word of mouth.”

    [sorry, still traveling…will add more later]

  5. Maruc

    “Your loyalty to your horses and your clan is commendable, Stefan.” Maruc replied sternly. “But how many lives would you trade for them? I fear any delay will cost lives. Hasan has proven himself in woodcraft and will not lead us astray. Your folk are devout, Mighty Halav will not see them destitute, He will lead your horses to safety. This rain is a sign. To turn from our path, however noble a task, would be to turn or back on Him and our lives will be forfit.”

    Maruc clasped Stephans shoulder. “Have faith, my friend. Our paths have been intertwined. Do not let doubt enter your stout heart. We must go on, do not leave us.”

  6. Hasan

    “Look for riding tack, Stephen,” said Hasan. “I fear the horses’ speed is our only ally, now that the signs are so faint. We must make up ground quickly.” In the meantime, Hasan tried to pick up the trail the best he could.

  7. Feldard

    The dwarf scowled at the idea of having to ride horseback. He glared down at the gagged and bound elven horse-trader and gave her a nudge with his foot. “Do you know where the goblins you got these horses of off were headed? Co-operation.. might just save your neck, elf.”

  8. Stephan

    “I am sorry, Maruc. I can not abandon the horses to the woods. Havlav does not favor, as far as I’ve learned, foolishness. Your head should also tell you to return the horses as they represent a great wealth. You would surely be compensated and have greater means then to find out what evil lurks in Dimrak. And I would join you.”

    Turning to address everyone, “This rain has already removed the gobs’ trace. I have made a solemn oath to my family.” He held up the barely healed wound where his family ring once adorned the middle finger. “If you will pursue the gobs, I pray you Havlav’s speed and offer you what horses you need. But I must return the rest as promised. I can then join you in your quest to rid Dimrak of these fell beasts.”

  9. Maruc

    “I fear you judge me harshly, Stephan. I have spent my life away from the cold light of trade and the hard lessons of money. All I see is the choice between the lives of the families in the path of goblins such as your clan, and their livelyhoods which can be rebuilt. But an oath is an oath and I would never ask a man to break one.” Maruc glanced at the falling rain. “I saw this rain as a portent to hasten our steps along our adopted path. Perhaps I was wrong? I am but a servant of Halav and I would be arrogant indeed to assume all my decisions are His. I have faith in Him, not my interpretation of signs.” Maruc grinned to himself.

    “I am no woodsman either, although I would guess that it would take time, even in a torrential downpour, for all tracks to vanish, especially if not all the horses were left here. But only Hasan could answer that with any degree of certainty.”

    Maruc walked over to the elf, his footprints leaving swift filled puddles. “Our path is set by your woodcraft. We need to know how far ahead of us they are and whether their tracks would become unreadable before we found them. If it proves impossible then our choice would be to return the horses and, as Stefans says, rely on word of mouth to guide our steps. Having faith that there are mouths left to utter them.”

  10. Hasan

    (I assume DM will answer at this point whether Hasan thinks there’s any reasonable possibility of tracking, with the availability of horses and the time of day–if it’s late, tracking will be tough, and if it rains through the night, probably impossible–being the major factors I can see. Unless, of course, Feldard is able to shake something out of the horse trader.)

Leave a Reply

