Where Are They?

Saeth strolled alongside the battling Dwarf, chuckling her amusement at his stubbornness, and its ill result for him. Once safe outside the shrine, she finally put a sentence together. “May I help you bandage those wounds? Oh, but this will be a fine addition to the tale…”

The dwarf merely glared at the warrior elf and leaned heavily against the nearest wall.

“Master Dwarf, they say in my village that pride comes before the fall,” chimed in Hasan. “When we are done here, let me take you to fish my favorite stream. Our dearest Mother Earth will there teach you the value of humility. It was a lesson my father taught to me … hmmm … thirty years ago. I remember it well: the sparkling light on the brook, the soft whisper of the early morning breeze. I was sure I’d spear a dozen fish by noon…ahh. The elf, lost in his meditation on the classic theme of elf versus nature, sighed in contentment.

At the sound of the footsteps of the Golem returning to its post, Hasan was startled back into the present. “Oh, right. The prisoners. Where are they?”

The Siswa should have been right there in front of them. They were gone!

* * * * *

The priest turned to Miklos, who had finished studing his book of arcania. “I wonder if they will remember where we left the guards tied up? If they’d have waited I could have reminded them.”

Miklos looked thoughtful for a moment. “There were…seven, I think, that assaulted us before the Temple Chamber. Two were slain and four bound in the corridor outside and one slain by the Rahib’s panthers.”

The priest put in, “Then there were those that were beyond the teleportation gate, the ones with the glowing lights? I can’t remember their number because we fled them. Then before that we met the guards chasing the thieves, again I think there were seven of them, three slain? And four we tied up behind the curtained off areas where the statues were.”

“And don’t forget the group outside the front of the Temple.” said the mage.

“Aye.” agreed Maruc, “I suspect the villagers would have come to investigate by now and taken them home. Have faith in their elven goddess Ilsundal the Protector. I’ll be glad to get out of this armour, it rubs in all sorts of unpleasant places.”

“Hmph, theres nothing like metal to ruin a good incantation.” replied Miklos. “But if you weren’t wearing it you’d not be having this conversation I think.”

“There’s truth in that my friend, Halav helps those who help themselves. An odd sort of remark really when you consider that a lot of thieves help themselves all the time.” Maruc grinned.

“So, what do you want to do whilest we wait for the others to return?” inquired the mage.

“I shall seek more of mighty Halav’s aid. Praying is good for the soul. You should try it Miklos.”

“I’ll keep watch over you my friend.” Miklos asssured him.

7 Comments

Filed under D&D, Dungeons & Dragons, rpg

7 responses to “Where Are They?

  1. Feldard (Dwf 3)

    The dwarf pushed himself away from the wall and scowled as he noted the lack of Siswa. “They were right here! Confound those damned long-eared, willow-limbed… ” the rest of his cussing he cut off as he realized he was in poor company with Hasan and Saeth. “Seems they’ve been retrieved.. whether for good or ill -who knows. I assume, we will find out soon enough as we continue our search for this Elrond.”

  2. Hasan

    Hasan replied, “I fear that is the best we can do at this point. Let’s head back to see the others. But before we go, would your gentle nature allow me to suggest that just once you walk through the temple chamber with a robe on?”

  3. Nicolai (T4)

    “Might be an idea Feldard, I’m getting all too familiar with the colour of Dwarven blood,” says Nicolai.

  4. Miklos (Mu 3)

    Bored of watching the pirest in his meditations, Miklos picked himself up and stretched. He spent a few moments studying the room then he went over to the open door, peered through the gloom and listened intently for further signs of movement.

    DM: How well lit is it? If Miklos needs to use a lamp he will do. He will stay in the room as he doesn’t intend to venture further on his own.

    After ensuring there is no immediate danger from the way on Miklos checked each door to see if it was locked and listened for any signs of movement. He opened each unlocked door a fraction to see what lay beyond as, he reasoned, anyone beyond the doors would have already arrived due to the sounds of combat so it must be relatively safe.

  5. Maruc (Clr 4)

    and the cleric prayed …

  6. Feldard (Dwf 3)

    Feldard eyed the door to the Guardians chamber with a scowl. He knew he couldn’t fend of another barrage of attacks from the temple golem, but giving in to donning a Siswa robe was just not in the dwarfs nature. Not now after, so much.
    “I need to rest some before I go anywhere. I’ll remain here. You lead the others on – Find this Elrond. I’ll be here waiting.”

    (it’s a bit early but this can be a nice lead in to me being away and out of play for those 3 weeks)

  7. Saeth:
    Maruc: 10xp
    Miklos: 10xp
    Nicolai: 10xp +10xp
    Feldard: 10xp+10xp +10xp
    Hasan: 10xp+10xp

    TOTAL:
    Saeth: 8115/16000
    Maruc: 8330/12000
    Miklos: 8320/10000
    Nicolai: 7730/9600
    Feldard: 8305/8800
    Hasan: 7690/8000

Leave a Reply

