Wine Shopping

wine.jpg

Miklos thought that if news travels fast around here the word of Nicolai’s treachery may have reached his ears and since he only saw he yesterday he may well recognised him. Miklos watched the man carefully. I wonder with a little deception he may accidentally reveal his links with the ‘veiled. However knowing what Nicolai said and their past experiences Miklos doubted whether the man would slip up like that. Taking a look at the man he didn’t look particularly brawny, but neither did Nicolai and they tried to recruit him…

Knowing how his father acted in such places he brushed the Dwarf aside, and gave him a quick conspiratoral wink. “Aristo I presume? Good.” Miklos answered himself before the man had a chance to answer. “I am meeting some of the city’s grandest nobles and my table must boast the finest wines money can buy.” He gave a slow look around the shop. “None of which I can see on your shelves, perhaps I was misled?” he stared down his long nose at the merchant. “You are Aristo? This is your wine emporium? You have many fans in the city but I see little here to warrent such a reputation.”

“You have other wines in the cellar I hope.” He said glaring over the counter. “And if they are properly cared for you will not bring them to me for you will disturb the sediment! I will follow you and you will show me what you really, have.

Well, if the youth wanted to play the noble, let him. In fact, Saeth supposed it might not be an act–given that many households traditionally dressed their younglings in that sort of tattered cape–any more than her new role as a ‘bodyguard’ was completely an act. In any case, she stood a ways back, looking around warily. Not seeing any obvious signs of the secret society, she pictured how the ten men must’ve approached him with the hood, where they must’ve stood.

Similarly, Nicolai was just observing, skulking in the shadows by the entrance.

At being brushed aside, Feldard’s face goes a crimson. “By my beard! Of all the ..” then he catches the wink and pauses in bafflement for a moment. “You know what you can do with your nobility!” he grumps folding his arms to wait to see what Miklos’ angle was.

Maruc caught Miklos’s wink and was impressed with his angle. His first thought was to come blurting out with a nice long sermon about being good to your fellow man and try to guilt-trip the mna into a confession. He wasn’t used to having to go about seeking confessions, people usually came to him…

Maruc tried to look like a retainer, mimicing the bluster of the young mage. Playing along he added, “My Master doesn’t like waiting, and there are many wine merchants of reputation in the city. My Master has come to you purely as a whim I would take the opportunity to fill your coffers if I were you. Especially when your wines will be tasted by the nobility of the city! Jump to it man.”

“Well, kind sirs,” responded the suddenly busy wine merchant. “I assure you my selection here is more than adequate. As I mentioned to the dwarf, this merlot from the Marilinev vineyards is enjoyed by the Duke himself. In addition, I have wines imported from Darokin, Thyatis and beyond. If it’s a white you are looking for, I have a fine collection of Ierendian wines that have just arrived this week from the port. But, I’m sorry to say I cannot afford to leave the booth unattended. If you’d like to see my private stock, I can take an appointment after the market closes.”

4 Comments

Filed under D&D, Dungeons & Dragons, rpg

4 responses to “Wine Shopping

  1. Continuing the Investigation:
    Saeth: 10xp +10xp
    Maruc: 10xp+10xp
    Miklos: 10xp+10xp +10xp DM choice
    Nicolai: 10xp +5xp
    Feldard: 10xp

    TOTAL:
    Saeth: 1330/4000
    Maruc: 1205/1500
    Miklos: 1180/2500
    Nicolai: 1080/1200
    Feldard: 1095/2200

  2. Miklos (Mu 1)

    “What! You cannot affort to shut your shop! I am here to buy cases!” Miklos was enjoying becoming outraged. “Yes cases of your finest wines. Turn me away now and I will not return. Also I will speak of this to my associates, who are highly placed within the city and news travels fast. You will be out of customers within the week! Now lets have none of this ‘I can’t close my doors for fifteen minutes’ buisness when you are about to make a vast amount of money.”

    “I am here to support your buisness, if you will not see me now, you will never see me!” Miklos added triumphantly landing his heavy purse on the counter (but not letting go of it). “Enough of this, lock your front door if you must then take me to your wines.” Miklos turned in disgust away from the merchantto face his freinds, when he had his back to him he allowed a braod grin to match Maruc momentarily to cross his face and winked. Then he turned back the merchant, scowl back in place. He was enjoying this immensly

  3. Maruc

    Maruc kept a stern but calm expression on his face, but he was sorely put to maintain it as Miklos turned turned round and grinned at them all. What is this boy up to? Is this really the way city nobility went about things? It might have been quicker to let the Dwarf have a go at him. But Miklos was right in a way, the window to the street was easily enough for the crowd to notice a fight going on, and the last thing we need right now is the guard turning up. The sooner we get this guy in the back the better. Then we can have a proper ‘discussion’.

  4. Saeth Tegau

    Saeth shook her head. From acting like an arrogant noble to throwing his weight around like an outraged dwarf. She could practically feel the charade falling away.

    She positioned herself just inside the door, where she could intercept anyone who enters–or drop the crossbeam and secure the door if necessary.

Leave a Reply

